🔍 Read the full analysis: Apple’s Quiet AI Week: Siri AI Gets A Memory While The $1,999 iPhone Duo Cracks At The Hinge on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get movie nights delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, adds conversation recall, access to more personal context and five languages to beta Siri AI. Apple also acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of foldable iPhone Duo units, but has not confirmed its cause or disclosed how many devices are affected.
Apple released iOS 27.2 on October 26, adding conversation memory and five languages to its beta Siri AI, while acknowledging an inner-display issue on a small number of foldable iPhone Duo units. The software changes broaden what Siri can recall and which users can speak to it, but Apple has not said how many Duo devices are affected or confirmed what is causing the display problem.
According to Apple’s release notes, Siri AI can now recall earlier conversations, allowing users to ask about information such as restaurant recommendations discussed previously. It can also draw on more personal context, including voicemails, Calendar attendees and photos attached in Messages, and use Safari history and Reading List information to improve some responses. The update adds an “Excluded Apps” setting to control which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access.
The assistant gains support for French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, joining English. Apple has promised four additional languages by year-end. Other additions include the ability to select and copy part of a Siri response and, on Mac, a “Write with Siri” option in Mail. Apple says Siri AI is still in beta. The feature requires an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later, and is not available to users under 13.
Apple separately confirmed “an issue impacting the inner display on a small number of iPhone Duo units” and said affected devices are being replaced through AppleCare. The company has not publicly specified the number of devices, the circumstances in which the problem occurs or a confirmed root cause. A report from ThorstenMeyerAI.com says an iFixit simulation identified a potential stress hotspot around the hinge, but that finding does not establish the cause in actual phones.
Siri Gains Memory, but Not Everywhere
The update makes Siri more useful for follow-up requests because users can refer back to prior conversations rather than restating all the relevant details. Access to personal information could also let the assistant respond with more context. At the same time, those capabilities make control over which apps and data Siri can access a practical concern; Apple’s new Excluded Apps setting offers a centralized way to limit that access.
The expanded language list does not mean Siri AI is available worldwide. Apple’s stated restrictions still leave the feature unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the European Union and mainland China. Its release notes also describe the service as a beta, and Apple applies daily usage limits to features that rely on server-side models. The company has announced a paid tier for expanded access but has not published its price or the limits users will face.
The display acknowledgement matters for buyers of a high-priced foldable device, particularly while the cause and scale of the problem remain unknown. Apple’s description of the issue as affecting a “small number” is the company’s characterization; it has not released a total or a public account of how replacements will be handled beyond AppleCare.
Popular right now

Roborock Robot Vacuum and Mop with LiDAR Navigation and 10,000 Pa Suction

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From iOS 27 Launch to 27.2
Siri AI launched with iOS 27 on September 14 as an English-language beta. Apple described it as a new version of Siri with personal context, onscreen awareness and the ability to act across apps, including drafting an email or editing and sharing photos. The company has presented the assistant as a system-level feature that can use on-device information and app connections.
Apple says smaller tasks run on the device, while more demanding requests can be handled through its Private Cloud Compute system. In a January 12 joint statement, Apple and Google said the next generation of Apple Foundation Models would be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology, while Apple Intelligence would continue to run on Apple devices and Private Cloud Compute. Apple says data sent to its system is not stored or made accessible to the company. Claims about Google infrastructure hosting some of that cloud capacity have not been confirmed by Apple.
The week also includes a new iPad mini, announced alongside the software update. Apple says its A20 Pro chip delivers up to 4.5 times faster AI performance than the previous generation; those figures are Apple’s own claims. The starting price rises from $499 to $699. Preorders are scheduled to begin October 28, with delivery starting November 6. Apple has also confirmed a “Pro and tell” event for October 28; reports of new Macs remain rumors in the supplied source material.
““an issue impacting the inner display on a small number of iPhone Duo units””
— Apple, in its iOS 27.2 release notes
Duo Fault and Siri Limits
Apple has not provided the number of affected iPhone Duo units, a technical explanation for the inner-display issue or information about whether the problem is appearing under particular conditions. The hinge stress point described in the source as an iFixit simulation is a possible lead, not a confirmed diagnosis. The available information also does not say whether Apple will change production or issue guidance beyond replacing affected devices through AppleCare.
For Siri AI, Apple has not published the daily usage limits or the price of its planned paid tier. The company says limits vary with the feature, request complexity and demand. The feature’s availability in the EU and mainland China remains restricted, and the timing for any change has not been stated. Apple has promised four more languages by year-end but has not named them in the source material.
Apple’s October 28 Event
Apple’s confirmed next public milestone is its “Pro and tell” event on October 28. The company has not confirmed which products will appear there. New Macs are rumored, so their announcement should not be treated as established until Apple makes it.
For customers with a Duo display problem, Apple says replacement is available through AppleCare. For Siri users, the next stated language milestone is the addition of four more languages by the end of 2026. Apple has not given a date for pricing details, publication of usage limits or a wider release beyond beta.
Key Questions
What changed in Siri AI with iOS 27.2?
The update adds conversation recall, access to more personal context such as voicemails and Calendar attendees, and an Excluded Apps setting. It also adds five languages and several smaller features, including the ability to copy part of a response.
Which new languages does Siri AI support?
Apple added French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, alongside English. The company says four more languages will follow by the end of 2026 but has not named them in the supplied information.
What is the iPhone Duo display problem?
Apple acknowledged an issue affecting the inner display on a small number of units and says affected phones are being replaced through AppleCare. The cause and number of devices are not public. A reported hinge stress point is not a confirmed explanation.
Is Siri AI available in the EU and mainland China?
No. The source material says Siri AI remains unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the EU and mainland China. Apple has not provided a date for broader availability in those markets.
Will Apple charge for Siri AI?
Apple has announced that expanded access to features relying on server-side models will be available for a fee in the future. It has not disclosed the price or the daily usage limits.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
