🔍 Read the full analysis: What ChatGPT Pro Offers Now After OpenAI Doubles Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get movie nights delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI increased the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, and canceled a planned reduction for Pro 200. The Pro 200 change restores the higher allowance for subscribers who were set to receive less; it does not double usage for everyone. Prices are unchanged, and several ChatGPT limits, including Plus usage and some weekly chat limits, did not change.
OpenAI increased ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances on its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans on October 29, while canceling a planned reduction to the $200 Pro 200 plan. The revision preserves the same monthly prices and means existing subscribers receive the updated allowances automatically, according to OpenAI’s release notes and help page.
The change concerns a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex, not every ChatGPT limit. Work supports longer, multi-step jobs such as research and document work; Codex is OpenAI’s coding agent. OpenAI’s pricing information says the two use the same pricing, credits and limits, so extra room for one also affects the other.
OpenAI’s October 29 release note says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. It also says the company canceled the reduction to Pro 200 that it had announced in September. OpenAI’s updated help page clarifies that Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance now receive the higher one, while subscribers who already had that higher allowance keep it. The change does not double usage for every Pro 200 customer.
Existing subscribers do not need to take action, and OpenAI says the new allowance applies without waiting for a renewal. Prices remain $100, $200 and $500 per month for the three Pro plans. The release notes do not give a numeric allowance for Business Premium, but say its usage is increasing. OpenAI’s public note does not state how large that increase is.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Which Limits Actually Increase
The revision gives eligible subscribers more capacity for longer work sessions and coding tasks without raising the listed Pro prices. That may matter to people who regularly run research or software-development jobs through ChatGPT and were facing the previously announced Pro 200 reduction.
But “twice the allowance” should not be read as twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. The company has not provided a single conversion from the new allowance to a fixed number of hours, tasks or code changes, so the practical value will differ by use.
The scope also matters for plan comparisons. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits remain unchanged on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200’s lower weekly limit was raised to match its higher one. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode described in the source material, remains exclusive to Pro 500. The allowance update is therefore a targeted change, not a general increase across ChatGPT.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Shark PowerDetect Corded Stick Vacuum, Self-Cleaning (Eggplant, HZ4002)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut
The decision followed a brief period of uncertainty over Pro 200. According to the supplied reporting, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, who leads core OpenAI products including Codex, attributed the move to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That explanation was Sottiaux’s claim, not a usage figure supplied in the October allowance announcement.
OpenAI reopened Pro 200 on September 29 and introduced Pro 500. Its September release note said included usage allowances were changing, while monthly prices would stay the same. Sottiaux described a plan ladder on social media as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, and said existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” The October 29 reversal canceled the reduction scheduled to take effect the next day.
OpenAI’s own current help page is the clearest source for the distinctions between plans. Sottiaux’s post described the change more broadly as doubling “all usage limits” for Pro tiers and Business Premium. That wording differs from the help page and release note, which specify Work and Codex allowances and identify chat limits that remain unchanged. This article follows the more detailed plan guidance from OpenAI.
““Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, as quoted by TechCrunch
OpenAI has not published a numeric increase for Business Premium in the release note. Sottiaux’s post says the plan’s limits are doubling, but OpenAI’s formal note only says Business Premium usage is increasing. The exact amount and how it applies across seats are not set out in the material provided.
OpenAI also has not translated the revised Work and Codex allowances into a fixed number of tasks or hours. Usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, according to the company. The October 29 announcement does not describe changes to Business Standard, Go or Free, so no change to those plans should be inferred from their omission.
The wording difference between Sottiaux’s post and the detailed help page leaves room for confusion about the phrase “all usage limits.” OpenAI’s plan guidance says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. It remains unclear whether the company will publish further clarification or more precise allowance figures.
Check Plan Usage Details
The new allowances are effective automatically, so current subscribers do not need to change plans or wait for a billing date. OpenAI’s help page and release notes are the key references for how the revised limits apply. Subscribers considering a more expensive tier can compare their account’s usage with the plan details before upgrading, since the company has not provided a universal estimate of how much extra work the allowance enables.
Businesses reviewing their subscriptions should distinguish per-seat plan usage from API budgets, which are separate considerations in the source material. The next useful information from OpenAI would be a specific Business Premium allowance and clearer figures for the Work and Codex limits. No further announcement date was given.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans had their Work and Codex allowances increased?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The Pro 200 change restores the higher allowance for subscribers who had been due to receive a lower one.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get double the allowance?
No. OpenAI’s help page says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, so their allowance was not doubled again.
Did OpenAI change ChatGPT prices?
No price change was announced. The listed monthly prices remain $100 for Pro 100, $200 for Pro 200 and $500 for Pro 500.
Did every ChatGPT usage limit increase?
No. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain the same. The stated doubling applies to the shared Work and Codex allowance on those plans.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numeric amount. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in his social media post, but that figure is not stated in the formal release note.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
